How To Train Your Dragon

Last Sunday we went to a book festival and we saw the author of How to Train your Dragon, Cressida Cowell because she had the 12th book in the series published and it’s the last book of the series. The interesting thing about her books was that her childhood  inspired her books.

When she was a child she went to this island that was next to the West coast of Scotland.There was no electricity, no phone signal and no Internet. For the first few years they only stayed for 2 weeks and then they even got a house built, so later they could stay for a whole 6 Weeks. They got a little boat and they caught some nice Eel to eat. There was even a mountain that at the edge it looked like a face and it was completely natural. Now let’s move on. When she was a child she always wanted to have her own pet dragon. There’s a dragon called a sea Dragon who’s 20 times the size of a Blue Whale (imagine that!).

Here's the whole series.

Here’s the whole series.

Here's me in the middle and the Author to my left and my sister.

Here’s me in the middle and the Author to my left and my sister.

These are all of the the types of dragons

These are all of the the types of dragons

photo 2

13 thoughts on “How To Train Your Dragon

  1. Oh Joe, I realised I can send you this link — it’s to the tweet from Cressida Cowell saying she liked your blog.

  2. That’s such a great blog. Maybe I should be inspired to write about sailing as I spent a LOT of time sailing in the wet and wind in Wales as a child. What about you – what could you write about ?

  3. Joe, I am trying to imagine how anyone could grow up in a house with no internet. Are you sure this actually happened? Please check and let me know.

Leave a Reply

